A shocker of a weekend…

3 Sep

I spent the bank holiday weekend at Fright Fest – a four and a half day festival dedicated to my favourite genre, horror films. I’ve been going since 2007 and I think it’s the best way to spend the bank holiday weekend.

As well as the main film programme (24 films!) there are also lots of Q&A sessions with the filmmakers and cast members, special previews and world premieres, short films, quizzes and special guests – it’s a seriously brilliant weekend for any horror geeks such as me.

What makes Fright Fest particularly interesting is you get to see an enormous amount of films over the weekend, from all around the world. Some are unique; but generally after a few films you start to see a trend developing. The first year I went it was all about zombie films – this was great, because I love a good zombie film! But I was seriously unimpressed with this year’s trend: rape. It seemed like every other film was about rape. Seriously. But the way some of the filmmakers dealt with the subject matter was just plain offensive, it was so exploitative. And seemingly in the films just for the sake of seeing a naked girl being attacked. These scenes brought nothing else to the films.

‘The Seasoning House’ directed by Paul Hyett, opened this year’s Fright Fest and basically set the tone for this year’s festival. It told the story of a group of young girls who were imprisoned in a house, beaten, drugged and repeatedly sexually assaulted by lots of men. The film didn’t hold back either – it was made up of many elongated gratuitous scenes showing this. For the entire film. Guess what, guys? After the first horrible rape scene I get what’s going on! I don’t need to keep seeing it over and over and over! There is just no need!

I was complaining about this afterwards to a friend, who said – ‘what do you expect from a horror film??’ Well, I expect a lot more actually. I spend my life defending the horror genre to people, and it is films like this that give horror a bad name. ‘The Seasoning House’ wasn’t a horror film at all – it was just a horrible film.

All through the weekend it carried on. Film after film of girls being attacked and abused by men, big burly muscly men, groups of men etc. After the second day I was unsure how many more of these films I could sit through. And it wasn’t just me who found all of the sexual violence gratuitous and unnecessary. I spoke to a number of blokes over the weekend and they said the same thing: that they were disappointed by the trend of this years FF and that so much of it was totally gratuitous and uncomfortable to watch. Like me they were after a proper scary story and a well made film.

Don’t get me wrong: there were a few really amazing films programmed over the weekend – films that actually told a decent story and had some good scares and really good characterisation. These are the films that I want to see, and the films that I am talking about when I say I love the horror genre. Films with a message, films that say something, films that make you think.

One of my favourite films of the weekend was ‘Sleep Tight’ by [REC] director Jaume Balaguero. Seriously, it was amazing. Not sure it was technically a horror film, I’d say it was more of a thriller. But it was dark and unsettling and really well made. This film also included a man drugging and raping a girl – but you never saw any of it, it was all very subtly suggested. Very sinister and very brilliant. I also really enjoyed ‘Berberian Sound Studio’ directed by Peter Strickland – a film that seemed to really divide the FF audience – some absolutely hated it and others loved it. I thought it was a brilliantly surreal and original film. And a nice break from all the other films at the festival.

Unfortunately it just seemed like there were loads of films that weekend which didn’t seem to bother with a story at all, or put any work into the characters, and just relied on the fact that their films had a topless girl been beaten half to death by a bloke twice her size. It’s insulting, it’s lazy filmmaking and that makes me furious. To a certain extent you always get a few films you hate on the FF programme but this year did seem especially bad.

I’m afraid the fact can’t be ignored that these films were all made by men. There were two films made by female directors in this year’s festival (yes, two. Out of twenty-four. But that’s for another day..). Both of those films also featured people being assaulted – but the difference is that in these two films it wasn’t done in a gratuitous way. The attacks were suggested by use of clever sound and camera work (you know, the basics of filmmaking, guys…) and they were much, much more powerful (and watchable) than seeing the attack in all its gratuitous glory.

‘Chained’ directed by Jennifer Lynch was my film of the festival. The story was horrible – a child gets kidnapped and then imprisoned by Bob, a rapist and murderer. The child is forced to grow up being a slave to the man and burying the bodies he brings home, before being turned into a killer himself. But Lynch had put so much work into the characters that even though Bob was a monster, the audience felt some sympathy towards him. It was uncanny. The film was beautifully shot and very compelling and obviously featured lots of rape and murder, but again not much was shown, it was all suggested. It was certainly not gratuitous.

As a filmmaker myself it makes me really angry when I see films that have obviously got money from somewhere, and support from the industry, do a terrible job and make a clichéd ‘stock’ horror film. It’s just such a waste. And it’s an insult to the audience and the genre. Horror films can and should be as intelligent as any other genre. End of.

One Response to “A shocker of a weekend…”

  1. Dave that is called Dave September 3, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    I despise rape scenes in films to the point where if I sense one coming, I leave the room and get Abi to shout me back in when it has finished. Now I watch different films to you and probably most people that read your blogs but three films get a mention here, the generals daughter was the first one that made me notice how uncomfortable I was with it, really upset me for a few days. The worst I have ever seen didn’t even show the scene but child rape was implied and that spoiled what I otherwise thought was a fantastic film: Law Abiding Citizen. Finally one that I coped with better, must have been how it was shot or something but that was Justice (Nicholas Cage). Other films I can’t watch again because of this are 8mm (strangley cage again) and that one with Jennifer Anniston, I think it is called Derailed.

Leave a Reply

