I Love Lists! Girl Power!

8 Mar

Today is International Women’s Day!

In honour of this I wanted to share some of my very favourite films that are directed and/or written by women.

In the world of filmmaking women are massively under represented. In the past 10 years only ONE female has been nominated for an Oscar – Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker in 2010. That is it! One!

A recent study from the ‘Center for the Study of Women in Television and Film’ looked into the top 250 films of 2015 and found that only 9% of directors and 11% of writers were female.

These statistics are really appalling. There needs to be more women working in the film industry.

Below is a list of 10 wonderful female filmmakers. I find these women and their work continually inspiring, if you haven’t watched these films I urge you to do so! Support women in film!

Ok.. Lets go..

Susanne Bier

One of my all time favourite directors. Her films include ‘After the Wedding’, ‘Brothers’ and very recently on TV ‘The Night Manager’.

 

Jennifer Kent 

Director of The Babadook which is genuinely the scariest film I’ve seen in a very long time. I actually hid under a cover while watching it!

 

Mary Harron

Director of ‘American Psycho’ – a seriously brilliant film. What else can I say – it’s a classic!

 

Miranda July

I love Miranda July, she is a writer, performer and filmmaker – so a real inspiration to me! She wrote, directed and starred in ‘Me and You and Everyone We Know’ and it is a awesome film!

 

Ana Lily Amirpour

Ana Lily Amirpour describes her directorial debut ‘A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night’ as an “Iranian Vampire Spaghetti Western” Brilliant! It’s a beautifully shot film and it’s black and white which I completely love!

 

Lena Dunham

I adore her early work – her short films and her feature ‘Tiny Furniture’ which she wrote, directed and starred in alongside her mother and sister who played.. her mother and her sister. Also for composition geeks Lena Dunham does the ‘rule of thirds’ beautifully!

 

The Soska Sisters

They are a real inspiration to any female who wants to get into making horror films. As life long fans of the horror genre they started their career as actors but were disheartened by the type of roles they were offered as twins (I can only imagine..) So started making their own films. ‘American Mary’ is fantastic.

 

Amy Sherman-Palladino

Creator and writer of ‘Gilmore Girls’. I love Gilmore Girls and I have watched the whole series over and over and over. It is hilarious and really cleverly shot – the show LOVES a long take!

 

Jennifer leigh 

I saw ‘Chained’ at Fright Fest 2012 and was blown away. It was my film of the festival. I wrote about it here. Watch it, it is awesome.

 

Tamra Davis

‘Crossroads’ is a great, great film. I must have watched it 20 times the year it came out! What can I say I love Britney!!

So that’s my list! Thanks for reading : )

Go watch these films if you haven’t already!

Sheena x

Leave a Reply

