Nothing says celebration quite like a Ferrero Rocher!

29 Apr

Studio Cake Saturdays

Happy Friday!!

Welcome to another Studio Cake Saturdays post!

Today is Tamla’s turn, who wowed us all with homemade salted hazelnut brittle. Yowzers! Over to you Tamla…

I choose this recipe, as nothing says celebration quite like a Ferrero Rocher!

The cupcakes:
So, I used an 8:8:8:4 cake recipe as the base of my cupcakes (8ozs flour, sugar and butter, 4 eggs) then added 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence, I teaspoon of baking powder and 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder. I creamed the butter and sugar, then added the vanilla essence and eggs, all using an electric whisk. Then I folded the dry ingredients in using a spoon. I made sure I used gold cupcake cases (very important!) and filled them about a third full, then baked them for about 20 minutes at 170 (I think) in a preheated oven.

Studio Cake Saturdays

The icing:
I don’t really have measurements for this, as I kinda made it up as I went along. All measurements are guesses!
I creamed 200g butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla essence and 2 tablespoons double cream together. Then I added icing powder, a bit at a time, until it felt like the right consistency. It was a lot of icing sugar. I also added Nutella (about 2 tablespoons), next time I would add more Nutella and less icing sugar!

Studio Cake Saturdays

The salted hazelnut brittle:
I used this recipe, but added way more nuts than they suggest, as I like my brittle dense! It took longer than the recipe says for the sugar to turn brown, you just need to watch it, so it doesn’t burn.

Studio Cake Saturdays

I like to bake, but haven’t really had the time recently, and wanted to make up my own recipe(ish) as normal I follow recipes from books. Next time I’d bake the cakes closer to the day (I had to make them in advance), and I’d add more Nutella to the frosting!

Thanks Tamla! Your cupcakes were magnificent!

xxx

Leave a Reply

